Fermanagh Gold Introduction

Ireland is and was divided into a number of different divisions depending on the reason. When people have a name, a townland, a county they immediately focus in on that one area, forgetting all others and refusing at times to accept any information from any other area, they sometimes ignore possible relatives because of this.

We have thirty two counties on the Island of Ireland

There are four Provinces. Ulster, Leinster, Munster and Connaught. Each of these is divided into a number of counties. While there are nine counties in the Province of Ulster, only six of these are British, hence we say the six counties. These are: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone.

Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry
(Derry),Monaghan and Tyrone

Carlow, Dublin, Longford, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois (Queen's/Leix), Louth,
Meath, Offaly (King's), Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow

Cork, Kerry, Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford,

Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, and Sligo.

Each of these provinces is further subdivided into a number of administrative areas.

Ireland is divided into Baronies, Religious Dioceses, Roman Catholic and Protestant which do not follow county lines. Civil parishes, Roman Catholic Parishes, and Protestant Parishes. Protestant Parishes pretty much follow the outline of Civil parishes, Roman Catholic Parishes do not. Roman Catholic Parish boundaries may cross over the boundaries of other counties.

We have four Ecclesiastical Provinces, made up of a number of Dioceses these are Armagh; Dublin; Cashel and Tuam.

Dioceses of the Established Church in Ireland

1. Ardagh
2. Clogher
3. Armagh
4. Dromore
5. Down
6. Connor
7. Newry & Mourne
8. Kilmore
9. Derry
10. Raphoe
1. Ardfert & Aghadoe
2. Cashel
3. Cloyne
4. Cork
5. Emly
6. Killaloe
7. Kilfenora
8. Lismore
9. Ross
10. Waterford
1. Dublin
2. Ferns
3. Kildare
4. Leighlin
5. Ossory
1. Achonry
2. Clonfert
3. Elphin
4. Kilalla
5. Kilmacduagh
6. Tuam


Published here with full permission of Jane Lyons